Coffee Creamer and Spontaneous Combustion? Yikes!

I love Mythbusters! They had an internet myth to prove or bust: Does powdered coffee creamer ignite into a giant fireball with air? I was interested…I used eight tablespoons in each 8-cup pot of coffee I brewed.

 

Yikes! I’m glad I never combusted like that. But I’d guess that if it’s wet it won’t blow up in a fireball. I’m a long term sugar addict, and one of my sources of sweet stuff was packages of coffee creamer (when sugar packets weren’t available). I would pour 2 or 3 in my mouth randomly. This was when I was a kid. Once I started drinking coffee, I only used it as intended. But still, should this stuff really be put in your body?

What’s in this stuff anyway? Chemicals, chemicals processed with chemicals, and chemicals overlaid with chemicals. Basically it comes out of a lab, not a kitchen.

Partial Ingredient list:

  • Corn syrup solids – imagine corn kernels that are somehow turned into corn starch. Then take that and add hydrochloric acid (highly corrosive to humans) which turns it back into a liquid. This liquid is then processed again to become dried crystals. Eww
  • Hydrogenated oils – already processed oils put through chemical catalysts with metals that change its molecular structure. The final product is trans fat, in powder form.
  • Sodium caseinate – a milk derivative that’s put through so many processes the FDA doesn’t even consider it a dairy product.
  • Sodium aluminosilicate – anti caking agent used in processed food items as well as other things like launtry detergent. It contains aluminum which is toxic in people.
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate – this is also a foaming agent and used in shampoo to make it lather up.

I would call this Frankenfood for sure. I don’t consider myself a health nut or a healthy lifestyle evangelist, but this is just scary.
So what can I do with all this coffee creamer I own? (Yeah, I shop at Costco)

wpid-20140925_223459.jpg

Here are some ideas I either thought of on my own or found on the internet.

(NOTE I’ve tested none of these, attempt at your own risk)

  • Paint –  mix 1 part water to 3 parts powdered creamer until you get somewhat like the consistency of paint. Add water based color, whatever hue your heart desires. Use as if its normal paint. This would probably work best with a kids project. (This was an internet idea that was for powdered milk but I’m guessing it would work either way.
  • Abrasive agent for cleaning – Baking soda is great to use for cleaning sinks, so maybe if you dump some of this in the sink and give it a go it’ll remove all that gunk around the drain.
  • Exfoliator – Baking soda is also good for exfoliating your skin. I use it on my face from time to time and really like it because it doesn’t have the dyes and scents of commercial exfoliatants. Great for acne sufferers. Maybe I could make a paste of this stuff and use it to exfoliate my feet? I’d never put it on my face!
  • Oil absorber – What if you sprinkle it on grease splatters on the oven after frying up a delicious batch of chicken? I wonder if it would soak up the grease and you can pick up the chunk like kitty litter. hmm

I’m now using regular old half and half or heavy cream in my coffee and just loving it. And contrary to popular belief, no I didn’t gain a bunch of weight when I made the switch. I actually lost weight! Half and half is good fat that you need to be healthy. All things in moderation too!

Extra link if you’re looking for more scary news on powdered coffee creamer.
Go here

Leave a comment